In what was a monumental year for the Rosepine baseball program, the coaches of District 4-2A showered many honors on the Eagle players and coaching staff.

In what was a monumental year for the Rosepine baseball program, the coaches of District 4-2A showered many honors on the Eagle players and coaching staff. Senior Samuel Peterson was chosen as the District 4-2A Most Valuable Player, while boss Jeff Smith took home Coach of the Year accolades. Peterson, in his only year at Rosepine, batted .412 in district play with four homers, 13 RBIs and 21 runs scored from his usual catcher's spot. He also pitched for the Eagles on occasion, going 8-1 on the season with a 2.20 earned run average as he struck out 100 batters in just 54 innings of work. Smith guided the Eagles to their first baseball district championship in Class 2A as Rosepine finished the 4-2A campaign with a record of 11-1, the only loss coming to DeQuincy in 10 innings. The Eagles won a school-record 25 games on the season, falling in the second round of the playoffs to eventual state champion Northlake Christian. Peterson was one of five Eagles honored with first-team status, which included junior Brandon Russell, junior Klint White, senior John Mark Holliday and junior Randall Aycock. Russell made the all-district squad at pitcher as he was 5-1 in league play with a 1.09 earned run average. White was selected at shortstop as he batted .387 in district with a homer, 12 RBIs and 15 runs scored. Holliday was chosen as one of three outfielders on the all-district team as he had 18 RBIs and scored 10 runs en route to batting .417 in district play. Aycock, a third baseman/pitcher, made the team as a utility player, batting .394 with nine RBIs and eight runs scored in league play. DeQuincy and South Beauregard each had four players named first-team all-district, while Anacoco and East Beauregard each landed two players on the squad. The senior DeQuincy duo Caleb Kellogg and Kade Overton, along with South Beauregard sophomore Tyler Moses, joined Russell on the all-district pitching staff. Kellogg had a 3-2 district record with a 1.02 ERA, while Overton was 5-0 with a 0.52 earned run average. Moses owned a 3-1 league mark with a 3.70 ERA. The DeQuincy duo of Tyler Burgess and C.J. Carter, along with South Beauregard's Tell Hunt, joined with White and Peterson to round out the first-team infield. Burgess, a sophomore first baseman, batted .292 with two homers and 13 RBIs, while Carter, a junior second baseman, batted .361 with two homers, 18 RBIs and 19 runs scored for DeQuincy. Hunt was one of the most lethal bats in the South Beauregard lineup with a .342 mark in league play, including 13 RBIs and 11 runs scored. Holliday was joined in the all-district outfield by the Anacoco senior duo of Kyle Hearn and Josh Deon. Deon batted .441 with six RBIs and 17 runs scored, while Hearn batted .432 with a homer, 14 RBIs and 11 runs scored. Rounding out the utility spots with Aycock were the South Beauregard pairing of Ricky Ivey and Trent Domingue and the East Beauregard duo of Johnny Hunt and Chris Schlag. Ivey was good for a .475 batting average and eight RBIs, while Domingue batted .429 with 17 stolen bases and 19 runs scored. Hunt was 3-1 on the mound for the Trojans, while also batting .422, while Schlag had 14 RBIs to go along with his .500 batting average. The second-team all-district pitching staff consisted of DeQuincy senior Jacob Dietz, Rosepine junior Austin Cox, South Beauregard junior Cade Addison and Anacoco junior Kyle Summitt. The second-team infield features DeQuincy senior Mitchell Marshall at catcher, South Beauregard junior Jeremy Stratton at first base, Anacoco sophomore Kris Cooley at second base, Vinton senior Dylan Boudreaux at third base and East Beauregard sophomore Kyler Campbell at shortstop. Pickering senior Cody Compton joined forces with Vinton senior Timothy Abshire and South Beauregard freshman Zack Brady in the second-team outfield, while the second-team utility players are Dequincy's Anthony Perkins, Vinton's Tyler Loyd, South Beauregard's Nathan Lee and the Rosepine duo of seniors Rustin Woodard and Justin Simmons. A total of 10 players were named honorable mention all-district, including Rosepine's Jansen Daniels, South Beauregard's Pryce Fontenot, East Beauregard's Jared Cooley, Vinton's Jeff Dobbs, the DeQuincy duo of Clayton Blanks and Layton Braneff, the Pickering pairing of Laramie Thompson and Mitch Dowden and the Anacoco tandem of John Reese and senior Justin Rogers.