It was another stellar season of Vernon Parish football.

It was another stellar season of Vernon Parish football.

Though only two of the parish’s three teams reached the playoffs this year, both Leesville and Pickering won in the first-round before falling to the eventual state champions in the second round.

And as a result, it is those two schools which landed the most players on the 2016 all-Vernon Parish football team, as selected by the Leesville Daily Leader.

Pickering and Leesville each had 11 players named to the all-Vernon Parish squad, while Rosepine, which winless on the season, landed a total of six players on the team, which features the 28 best players from across the largest parish in the state of Louisiana.

Pickering senior and McNeese commit Dontay Hargrove was chosen as the parish’s Most Valuable Player this year.

Hargrove, an honorable mention all-stater according to the Louisiana Sports Writers Association, was a first-team all-district pick in 3-2A at defensive back, while also earning second-team honors at tight end.

Defensively, Hargrove was responsible for almost 100 tackles, while also reeling in a number of touchdown passes for the Red Devils, who fell to Class 2A Sterlington in the second round of the playoffs.

Hargrove was named to the all-parish team at tight end.

The Leesville Wampus Cats, which finished the season with an overall record of 7-5, which included a piece of the District 3-4A title, won three special honors on this year’s squad.

Seniors Theron Westerchil and Jaelyn Edwards won Offensive and Defensive Player of the Year honors, respectively, while Robbie Causey took home Coach of the Year recognition.

Westerchil accounted for over 1,000 yards passing in his first year starting at quarterback for the Wampus Cats, leading his team to a 6-4 regular season mark.

He threw for nine touchdowns and only seven interceptions, while also rushing for five more scores, helping Leesville to win a playoff game for the first time since 2009.

Edwards was a force on the defensive side of the ball for the Wampus Cats, leading the team in tackles as he was a first-team all-district selection, one of three Wampus Cats to earn that distinction.

Causey took over a Wampus Cat program very late in the summer as the former head coach bolted to Natchitoches Central.

With a very young team, Causey and his staff help instilled a never-give-up attitude to the Wampus Cats, leading the team to a regular-season record of 6-4, winning 4-of-5 games during district play to lay claim to a share of the league championship.

After a win over Beau Chene to open the playoffs, Causey and the Wampus Cats fell to eventual Class 4A champion Edna Karr at home in the second round of the playoffs.

Rounding out the award winners on the all-parish squad is Rosepine running back Seth Shirley, the Newcomer of the Year.

A sophomore, Shirley rushed for over 1,000 yards for the winless Eagles, providing a bright spot for an otherwise dismal season for Rosepine.

Joining Hargrove in the all-parish receivig corps were Leesville wideout Andrew Croker, the leading receiver in the parish in 2016, and Rosepine’s Seth Ducote, who started the season at quarterback before moving to his more familiar role, where he was second-team all-district.

The Pickering trio of Austin Talley, Zach Newman and Landon Dowden join forces with Leesville sophomore Aaron Hunter and Rosepine freshman Wesley Willis to comprise the all-parish offensive line, while Westerchil and Shirley are joined in the backfield by Leesville’s DaQuan Davis and Pickering’s Codie Williams at running back.

Leesville’s Elijah Mundy and Talyn Adams join forces with the Pickering duo of Shelton Anderson and Jonathan Gregory on the all-parish defensive line, while Edwards partners with Leesville senior Sabian Matuu, Pickering’s Laron White and Rosepine senior Christian Kessinger at linebacker.

The Pickering duo of Marcus Hill and Zach Jefferies, along with the Leesville pairing of Cory McCoy and McKenzie Jackson, were chosen as defensive backs on the all-parish team.

Leesville senior Jacob Adams was selected as the kicker for the team, while Rosepine’s Alex Pope was named to squad as the kick returner.

Rounding out the team were seniors Patrick Hinson of Pickering and Cade Ledet of Rosepine at athlete.