The Leesville Lady Cats have been to the state tournament on three occasions, twice during head coach Georgia Thomas' tenure.

The Leesville Lady Cats have been to the state tournament on three occasions, twice during head coach Georgia Thomas’ tenure.

The goal this year is twofold – win the district title for the first time in school history and make a fourth trip to the state tournament.

The Lady Cats are coming off a 16-16 campaign, one in which they reached the playoffs as a No. 18 seed, only to fall to No. 15 Academy of Our Lady.

Leesville returns a number of veteran players from that team, including eight seniors — Lina Kava, Michelle Freshley, Ashley Bell, Rylie Bush, Joci Carey, Sadie Arellano, Lucki Gil, Sarah Landry and Zakeia Collins.

The Lady Cats will play in a pair of scrimmages, beginning with one on Saturday, Aug. 16, at DeQuincy. The following Saturday, Leesville will host DeQuincy and then will journey to Bossier City for the Loyola Prep Jamboree on Saturday, Aug. 30.

Leesville opens the season at home with a contest against Airline at 4 p.m., Tuesday, Sept. 2, and will take to the road on Thursday for a date at C.E. Byrd in Shreveport.

The Lady Cats also have home matches against Evangel, DeQuincy, Loyola Prep and C.E. Byrd, along with tournaments at Broadmoor, Northside and New Iberia Senior High. On Saturday, Oct. 4, Leesville will host its annual tournament.

Leesville, who has road contests against the likes of Cecilia, Cabrini and Carencro, will open district play at Tuesday, Sept. 30, at Captain Shreve and will host rival Sam Houston on Thursday, Oct. 2.

LaGrange is also in the district with Leesville.

Here is the 2014 Leesville Lady Cat volleyball schedule (*-denotes district match):

Saturday, Aug. 16: Leesville at DeQuincy (scrimmage), 10 a.m.

Saturday, Aug. 23: DeQuincy at Leesville (scrimmage), 10 a.m.

Saturday, Aug. 30: Leesville at Loyola Prep Jamboree, 10 a.m.

Tuesday, Sept. 2: Airline at Leesville, 4 p.m.

Thursday, Sept. 4: Leesville at C.E. Byrd, 4 p.m.

Saturday, Sept. 6: Leesville at Broadmoor Tournament, TBA.

Monday, Sept. 8: Evangel at Leesville, 4 p.m.

Tuesday, Sept. 9: Leesville at DeQuincy, 4 p.m.

Thursday, Sept. 11: Leesville at Evangel, 4 p.m.

Saturday, Sept. 13: Leesville at Northside Tournament, TBA.

Tuesday, Sept. 16: Loyola Prep at Leesville, 4 p.m.

Thursday, Sept. 18: Leesville at Loyola Prep, 4 p.m.

Saturday, Sept. 20: DeQuincy/Evangel at Leesville (tri-match), TBA.

Monday, Sept. 22: Leesville at Airline, 4 p.m.

Thursday, Sept. 25: Leesville at Cecilia, 4 p.m.

Tuesday, Sept. 30: *Leesville at Captain Shreve, 4:30 p.m.

Thursday, Oct. 2: *Sam Houston at Leesville, 4:30 p.m.

Saturday, Oct. 4: Leesville Tournament, 9 a.m.

Tuesday, Oct. 7: Leesville at Carencro, 4 p.m.

Thursday, Oct. 9: *Leesville at LaGrange, 4:30 p.m.

Tuesday, Oct. 14: *Captain Shreve at Leesville, 4:30 p.m.

Thursday, Oct. 16: *Leesville at Sam Houston, 4:30 p.m.

Saturday, Oct. 18: Leesville at New Iberia Senior High Tournament, TBA.

Tuesday, Oct. 21: C.E. Byrd at Leesville

Thursday, Oct. 23: *LaGrange at Leesville, 4:30 p.m.

Saturday, Nov. 1: Leesville at Cabrini, TBA.