It was a season to remember on the diamond for the baseball and softball teams at both Simpson and Evans.

It was a season to remember on the diamond for the baseball and softball teams at both Simpson and Evans.

Simpson's softball team reached the state tournament for the first time in a number of years, while the baseball squad fell a run short in extra innings in the state championship game. Evans' fans watched both of its teams fall just one win away from a trip to the state tournament.

And as a result, 11 players from these two schools were honored on the Class C all-state teams, as chosen by a panel of the Louisiana Sports Writers Association.

The Simpson Broncos had six total players honored on the team, four making first team and two being chosen honorable mention, while the Lady Broncos had two first-teamers and one honorable mention selections. Evans had one first-teamer on the softball squad, while the Eagles landed an honorable mention choice in baseball.

Bronco boss Robbie Bainer was named the Class C Coach of the Year and had the senior trio of Isaac Allbritton, Weston Parker and Cameron Walker, along with freshman Colton Parker named first-team all-state, while junior Tanner Yates and freshman Landon Meyers were honorable mention choices.

Allbritton, a recent signee with LSU-Alexandria, batted .359 on the season with seven homers, while also sporting an 8-3 record on the mound. Weston Parker, who was 6-2 on the hill, batted .330 on the season, while Walker was good for a .342 average. Colton Parker, a freshman catcher, led the team with a .413 batting average.

As for the Lady Broncos, who won 14 games and a piece of the District 3-C championship this season, saw seventh-grader Emily Collins and senior Whitney Counts named first-team all-state, while sophomore Tajah Bennett was honorable mention.

Collins was the primary pitcher for the Lady Broncos, while also batting an impressive .415, while Counts was the table setter and leadoff hitter, sporting an average of .405.

Evans' sophomore Jewel Sharbeno was first-team all-state for a second year in a row. The two-time District 3-C Most Valuable Player, batted .572 on the season and sported an earned run average of 0.85.

The lone Eagle named to the squad was honorable mention pick Kirklin Henry. The senior was the ace of the Evans' pitching staff and a first-team all-district selection.

The Plainview Lady Hornets dominated the Class C all-state team with four selections, including Most Outstanding Player Madison Pippen. The sophomore batted .400 on the season, while also being the MVP of the Class C state title game, where the Lady Hornets captured the championship.

Eighth-grader Abigail Pippen, senior Morgan Calhoun and sophomore Alex Harrison also represented the Lady Hornets on the Class C all-state softball squad.

Rounding out the Class C softball team were the Georgetown duo of Shanya Canoe and Sabrina Carter, the Maurepas pairing of McKenna Lessard and Keegan Marchand, the Claiborne Christian duo of Emma Richardson and Kaylon Cory, Elizabeth's Tori Brown and the St. Joseph-Plaucheville duo of Emily Link and Macy Firmin.

The Class C all-state baseball team featured four players from state champion Elizabeth, including Most Outstanding Player Ty Morgan. Morgan, a senior catcher, had an impressive batting average of .588 on the season, while also blasting eight homers, guiding the Bulldogs to their second state title in three years.

Mark Reed, title game MVP Max Chamberlain and Chance Gordon were also chosen to the all-state team.

Rounding out the squad were the Claiborne Christian trio of Griffith Olinde, Trevor Rugg and Austin Acree, the Summerfield duo of Hagen Hollenshead and Casey Chandler, Georgetown's Hunter Doiron and the Maurepas duo of Hunter Dupuy and Hunter Duplessis.