Daylight Savings Time will officially draw to an end this Sunday November 5th at 2 a.m. Residents are reminded to set their clocks back an hour and to prepare shorter days and longer nights as it gets darker earlier this time of year.

It is fair to say that the average person does not know why Daylight Savings Time exists or where it originates. While there are a few rumors and misconceptions, many people don’t quite know the history of the clock turning tradition. Daylight Savings Time.

Daylight Savings Time was first invented in 1895 by New Zealand entomologist George Hudson. As an entomologist, Hudson studied bugs and wanted more daylight to gather insects. Hudson would write two papers on the subject, but Daylight Savings Time would not be enacted in New Zealand until the Summer Time Act of 1927. That year Hudson was the first recipient of the T.K. Sidney Medal in honor of the passing of the act.

During World War I, Daylight Savings Time was used by Germany, Austria, and other European countries in an effort to conserve fuel and energy. It became increasingly popular in the United Kingdom and remained so for years to come. Prime Minister of the United Kingdom Winston Churchill once stated that Daylight Savings time "enlarges the opportunities for the pursuit of health and happiness among the millions of people who live in this country." Churchill grew up during the time that Daylight Savings time became popular in the United Kingdom and supported it during his time in office.

However, America didn’t respond to Daylight Savings Time so fondly. When it was brought into the U.S. in 1918 it was largely unpopular among the majority of citizens and was repealed that next year in 1919. It would not return until President Roosevelt instituted “war time” from 1942 to 1945. There would be no federal law mandating Daylight Savings Time for over 20 years after that. During the time where it was not federally mandated, Daylight Savings time was decided on the state and regional level as to whether or not it was necessary.

America’s complicated relationship with Daylight Savings Time continues to this day. Contrary to popular belief, there is currently no federal law mandating Daylight Savings Time. Arizona and Hawaii are the only two states in the U.S. that don’t participate in Daylight Savings Time.