Each year, the LSU Office of Research & Economic Development, or ORED, presents two faculty members with the Distinguished Research Master Awards to honor exceptional research and scholarship at LSU.

This year, LSU Department of History Professor Nancy Isenberg will be presented with the award for the arts, humanities, social and behavioral sciences and LSU Department of Mechanical & Industrial Engineering Professor Michael Khonsari will be presented the award for science, technology, engineering and mathematics.

“I’d like to congratulate the recipients of this year’s Distinguished Research Masters Awards. The dedication they show every day to their work as scholars and educators is an integral part of what makes LSU extraordinary,” said LSU President F. King Alexander.

The Distinguished Research Master Awards will be presented on April 12 at the Club at LSU Union Square.

“At LSU, our sustained and continued success comes from our incredible faculty. It is an honor to recognize the hard work and prestige they bring to our flagship university through their nationally recognized scholarship,” said LSU Vice President of Research & Economic Development Kalliat T. Valsaraj.

Nancy Isenberg is a prolific American historian whose books have been recognized on the New York Times Best Sellers List. She was selected as the 4th most important writer on Politico Magazine’s Annual List of the “50 Most Important Thinkers” of 2016. She is the T. Harry Williams Professor of American History at LSU. Her most recent book, “White Trash: The 400-Year Untold History of Class in America,” was a New York Times best seller and was a finalist for book prizes from Pen America, Columbia School of Journalism and the Los Angeles Times. Her book has gained international recognition, with editions published in Great Britain and Australia, and translations are underway in Italy, China, South Korea and Taiwan.

She has been featured on PBS NewsHour, NPR, C-SPAN “Book TV” and is a contributing writer to Salon.com.

Michael Khonsari holds the Dow Chemical Endowed Chair and Professor of Mechanical Engineering at LSU. Khonsari is also the Louisiana Experimental Program for Stimulating Competitive Research project director and associate commissioner for sponsored research and development programs at the Louisiana Board of Regents. Through these roles, Khonsari promotes Louisiana’s research culture through government investments and post-secondary education.

He has authored more than 285 peer-reviewed journal articles and 50 book chapters and special publications. Khonsari is the principal investigator of more than $114 million research grants and contracts. He is the holder of eight U.S. patents all obtained during his tenure at LSU. He is the recipient of the ASME Burt Newkirk Award and the ASME Mayo Hersey Award—the highest award in the field of tribology bestowed by American Society of Mechanical Engineers, or ASME.

Khonsari also has served as a research faculty fellow at the former NASA Lewis Research Center, Wright-Patterson Air Force laboratories and the U.S. Department of Energy. Khonsari’s interests include tribology, machinery performance analysis, numerical analysis and heat transfer. Khonsari earned his bachelor’s degree, master’s degree and Ph.D. in Mechanical Engineering from the University of Texas. Prior to LSU, he was a faculty member at The Ohio State University, University of Pittsburgh and served as the Chairman of the Department of Mechanical Engineering and Energy Processes at Southern Illinois University.