Eight members of the Class of 2018 at the Louisiana School for Math, Science and the Arts (LSMSA) were presented with special awards during the Senior Recognition Ceremony held Friday, May 18, in the A.A. Fredericks auditorium located on the campus of Northwestern State University.

Nathan Ward of Anacoco was presented the Eric Candell Excellence in Physics award.

This award is given in memory of Eric Candell, a 1987 graduate of LSMSA who went on to study at Cal Tech. He was finishing a doctorate in physics at M.I.T. in 1996 when he suddenly passed away.

The Candell family established this award that has been given each year since 1996 to the senior whom the science faculty believes best exhibits excellence in physics.

“It is an honor for us to present this award to students who embody excellence by taking about as many advanced physics courses at LSMSA to have a four-year college degree in physics,” said Dr. Allison Landry, chair of the Department of Science.