Vernon Parish School Board announced the Vernon Parish Teachers of the Year at the first meeting of 2019. The candidates for teacher of the year are selected by their peers at the school level, then by the district.

The criteria each teacher must follow are:

Demonstrate excellence in their field

Guide students of all backgrounds and abilities to achieve excellence

Demonstrate a positive impact on student achievement

Demonstrate leadership among their peers

 The teachers selected this year encompass all of these criteria and more.

The teachers chosen will progress on to the State Teacher of the Year semi-finals in April.

Danelle Nash, fifth-grade teacher at Evans Elementary School, was selected as Vernon Parish Elementary School Teacher of the Year. She said that she was “Proud to be an example to my students and the generation coming up” when asked if she had anything to say about the award. Evans Principle Cathy Bass said that she can see that Nash will be in a position of leadership in Vernon Parish in the future.

Tiffany Martin, a teacher at Leesville Junior High School was selected as Vernon Parish Middle School Teacher of the Year. She was described as having the goal of “reaching and teaching”. She often gives up her lunchtime to help struggling students overcome a problem.

Tammy Cecil, an English and P.E. teacher at Anacoco High School was selected as Vernon Parish High School Teacher of the Year.

She has been a teacher for 25 years and is described by her peers as “a true educator who goes above and beyond”. She is often selected by the graduating senior class to give the teacher graduation address.

Cecil says she is honored to be chosen but says, “my place is in the classroom, the gym or the hallway.”